When feeling a bit low

Amy Carmichael

Edges of His Ways, August 15

When I am in heaviness, I will think upon God.   Psalm 77:3 P. B. V.

20190815_050511775965780.jpg Have you noticed how, when you are in heaviness, you are always tempted to think about yourself? –your uselessness, your failures, your nothingness — yourself in one way or another?

I have known this temptation and constantly found it tormenting others. To draw on’s thoughts to oneself is a long-tried and most successful wile of the devil. Straight against this is the word we have in this Psalm, “When I am in heaviness I will think upon God.” I will turn my thoughts from myself to my Father who loves me and does not stop loving me, though I am useless and a failure and less than nothing at all.

Debs… Looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God….  in Everett, WA

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning Devotions

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.