Moments of Doubt

Tuesday, the day before school starts and I was not getting up to go to a teachers meeting. That is never going to happen for me again. I almost couldn’t breath. This is no way for a warrior to start her day.

20170907_061744 Strong coffee and a little bit of time on Face Book. Does anyone care about me? The Almighty answered me… FROM FACE BOOK! His answer came from “Hebrew For Christians” by John Parsons, who posted…

What are you seeking today? The Lord says, “Seek Me that you may live” (Amos 5:4). If you feel empty today, ask God to feed you with His life giving food. Ask Him for energy, power and strength. Seek YHVH and His goodness. He is faithful and true and will surely answer the sincere heart. You will seek Me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)

Well that was nice.

Into the word, which happened to be John chapter 4; I thought it was about some woman at a well. Turns out that it is about Y’shua (Jesus) and the food he eats. “My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me, and to accomplish His work.” (John 4:34)

I was back to thinking that being a teacher was my work, but that is only how I got a check. That isn’t God’s will for me. I was looking at things all wrong. I need to be about the work the Almighty wills me to do. I am not exactly sure yet what that IS but I do know what it isn’t. There was a time, not so long ago, when I sat in my Garden, praising Abba, telling him that I loved the life he had given me (an urban homestead), in fact I loved it so much that if He wanted me to do anything else He would have to drop it into my lap. He did just that, one day later. Now he has lifted it from my lap. I’m picking up from where I was that day. My garden needs some attention, but if this is the Almighty’s will for me then I’ll get it back in order.

20170908_112625 It is September. I am very limited on planting options. Ray is in the midst of making a hoop house for some VERY late winter crops for our farm. (If you look carefully you can see the structure out my office window.) Today, just to start getting dirty, I bought a tiny little philodendron, a small pot and cord to make a hanger (for the plant hook Ray put above my office window.) Before I had children (was that really 40 years ago?) I discovered that this little plant was always forgiving. A good place to start. Even as a tiny baby plantlet it seems cheerful. The next job, straighten up the green house.

20170908_113048

Me oh my! I had a jungle full of weeds growing in my beautiful green house. The outside walls and roof need a good cleaning, but while I build up my energy levels (there is a whole lot of sitting down when you are a teacher on a computer) I settled for cleaning  up the mess inside. I worked my way back, foot by foot. I knew the measurements because one square foot is the size of the bricks that make the path down the center of the green house. Bit by little bit I weeded and straightened my way down the aisle. There was color in the planter box to my right. Could it be? Tomatoes I had started from seed? When my hip hurt too much to get up and down to plant those little baby plants outside, I sat on my garden stool and planted my little tomato plants in the green house planter box. They had not been touched all season long, though Ray told me that he did water the box during the summer. I got the vines under control and harvested the pretty basket of tomatoes in the picture. Persimmons, Brandywine, Black Plum and Stripped Romas. We feasted on Pesto Pasta with some amazing tomatoes. All because the Almighty said, “Be fruitful and multiply” They live up to their calling. Ray was thinking Tomato Sandwiches sounded really good.

September 8, 2017 OAYSE - CAFeI even finished my next Ephesians study.

The will of the Father Ephesians 1:7-10

Debs… praying for Mexico (8.1 earthquake), Huston (still recovering), Everyone in Irma’s path, the firemen and citizens of the NorthWest while everything burns, and for the wisdom and wise counsel of those in DC who need to respond to N Korea. May God have mercy on America and Americans. ….Are you saved?

September 8, 2017

1 Comment

Filed under Bible Study, Fresh from the garden, In the greenhouse, Morning Devotions, Prayer, Urban Farm

One response to “Moments of Doubt

  1. raydebco

    Moments of doubt along the path (way) or to be expected its whats revealed to us around the next corner that will wow us and
    sustain us

Leave a Reply

