In the morning when I rise

July 29, 2016 WP Jenny e il PiccoloCreate in me a clean heart, O God, and put a new and right spirit within me. Psalm 51:10 rsv

I wonder what today holds? Most mornings I wake up, ready to put on the coffee and jump into the Word, eager to watch the Almighty order my day. But this morning I slept in late. The dogs were going crazy over some intruder (four-legged) in the night, putting us all on alert. 

Call upon the Name of YHVH Before I knew that I was awake, I was aware of the vile “dream.” Trapped in my own head, panic but for one thought, “Abba, give me your Word to hang on to!” But my thoughts went back to fighting the characters in the “dream.” I almost missed it. Fighting the battle in my mind with the darkness, I realized that another voice had floated quietly by. The me in the dream spoke what I heard. Create in me a clean heart Abba, renew a right spirit in me! It was as if a bubble popped. Can it really be that easy?

but they who wait for YHVH shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:31 rsv

It can be as easy as simply saying the name Jesus. When I was younger there was a season when I would awake in the dark feeling paralyzed and filled with unreasonable fear. Even my jaw and tongue would be paralyzed and the best I could do was think the name of Jesus, trying with all of my will to speak the name out loud. Time would stand still as first my throat, then the back of my tongue would work The Name. My lips would join in and soon I could say The Name of Jesus…. and whatever it was that had frozen me would be gone… just like that! There is power in The Name!

The steadfast love of YHVH never ceases, his mercies never come to an end;  they are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness. Lamentations 3:22-23 rsv

Doing spiritual warfare is not physical, but I feel physically weary when the battle is done (Luke 4:13) I do feel like I could use an extra cup of coffee. I feel safe and loved, but I feel like I’ve been in a battle. But I wonder, where would I go for help if not for Y’shua? (The Son of YHVH lovingly known as Jesus in English) …Do you know Jesus?

Leave a comment

Filed under Morning Devotions

Leave a Reply

