Broccoli seed (How to?)

January 18, 2016 (1) broccoli seed

What a slow job! This is the first time I have ever tried to save seed from broccoli… and there is a lot of pods that need to be emptied. So far I am opening each pod and trying to empty them like little mini pea pods. If there is an easier way I would sure like to know!

These are OP Thompson’s. I got 7 to 9-inch heads from this type. That size of head makes a bigger meal then all four of us could eat at one sitting. And we love broccoli!

Last year I was down to two seeds and no money. So I planted those two seeds and let them go to seed. I have an amazing amount of pods from those two plants. But surely there must be an easier way to get the seed out of those little pods?

January 11, 2016 (2) - Copy

January 18, 2016

This took me all morning, mostly because the weather font I wanted would not down load. I forgot to date the picture

Happy birthday to my nephew Ben!

Leave a comment

Filed under Back to Eden Garden, Urban Farm

Leave a Reply

