Morning Devotions: Psalm 9

Psalm 9 a Muth-labben. Right away I have a question. What is a muth-labben? A little bit or research tells me that it is something written because of the death of a son. We know David lost a son who would have been Solomon’s older brother. He died as an infant. But David was a mighty prophet and friend of the Almighty. The Almighty also lost a Son. I think that it is the Almighty’s Son that David writes about in Psalm 9.

I will praise You, O LORD, with my whole heart;
I will tell of all Your marvelous works.
I will be glad and rejoice in You;
I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High.
Psalm 9:1-2 nkj

In this Psalm about the Son of the Almighty, David mentions his own enemies, the aggravation and pain they cause is honestly written by the friend of the Almighty. David knows that the havoc the enemy causes is not forever and they will be held accountable for the destruction they cause. But David will remember the amazing things he has seen the Almighty do and will praise Him for it.

YHVH is eternal (vs 7) but the enemy will come to an end (vs 6).
YHVH has a throne for righteous judgment (vs 7) from where he maintains justice, judging righteously (vs 4) but the enemy will be blotted out in perpetual ruins.

Sometimes when I read verses like these I get an idea in my head that my life will be lived in a bubble of sweetness, filled with kind people. To be honest, there have been seasons like that in my life.  There have also been times when my bubble has burst. The enemy does come in like a flood and even though I believe with all my heart that my enemy is not a flesh and blood person (read Ephesians 6:2), he still manages to use people in my life when he comes against me. It will work that way for you too. If that is how it worked for Y’shua (meaning Salvation, Jesus) who is the author and finisher of our faith (Hebrews 12:2) then we should expect that our unseen enemy of our soul will seduce others into doing his dirty work.

Surely He has borne our griefs
And carried our sorrows;
Yet we esteemed Him stricken,
Smitten by God, and afflicted. Isaiah 53:4 nkj

What do we do at those times? Fight back? Defend our actions and our motives. Honestly, it has not been my experience that fighting for myself is useless. It tends to fall on deaf ears. But let me tell you, I am not without hope! Neither are you. We have a stronghold, a safe place to find refuge, which is a little different than a hiding place, though we can definitely hide for a season in the stronghold. (vs 9) We who trust in the name of YHVH will not be forsaken by Him (vs 10)

Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.
Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and depart from evil. It will be health to your flesh, and strength to your bones. Proverbs 3:5-8

And Jesus came and spoke to them, saying, “All authority has been given to Me in heaven and on earth. Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen. Matthew 28:18-20

We have a job to do, make disciples everywhere who embrace the life of Y’shua, our Salvation, our Jesus. We have an enemy who will make our life difficult, not wanting fellow slaves of darkness to be set free by truth (John 8:32) Blood, the life of people is required for sin (vs 12) but we have Y’shua (salvation, vs 14) who has paid our blood-price, setting us free.  This is the message we must tell, this is the hope we are compelled to give to those in darkness, even those the enemy has used to stop us. Run to the strong hold, the Word of the Almighty which is Jesus our salvation. He will never abandon you. He will be the backbone need to stand firm against our enemy.
Mrs. Hagerty, November 3, 2015

November 15, 2015 (2)

Purple Brussels Sprouts, all ready for the winter holidays at The Toy Box Suburban Farm in Everett, Wa.

1 Comment

Filed under Bible Study, Fresh from the garden, Uncategorized, Urban Farm

One response to “Morning Devotions: Psalm 9

  1. Good luck to your Brussels sprouts.

Leave a Reply

