Morning Devotions; Psalm 8

When my oldest son, Chris was in grade school, if you asked him what his favorite Bible passage is, he would tell you Psalm 8.

Psalm 8:3-4 When I consider thy heavens, the work of thy fingers, the moon and the stars, which thou hast ordained; What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him? kj

Majesty!

Majesty!

Majesty, excellence, from a Hebrew adjective used to describe the name of the Almighty. Y’shua-Jesus taught us to pray, “ our Father in Heaven, hallowed be thy Name…” The name of the Almighty is majestic, it is powerful. It is also the object of the third commandment. We are not to take that name “in vain”.

Often we say that the third commandment means that we should not use the Almighty’s name as a cuss word, and that is a good way to look at the commandment. To blaspheme the Name of the Almighty is a significant sin. However, if you take seriously your covenant, your commitment to the King of kings and the blood of Jesus that paid for that commitment, then misusing the Name may not even be an issue for you. When I think of the majestic name of the Almighty, it is with the humble appreciation that I am called by his name, I represent it to the world and I do not want to do anything to cause others to not want to know Him. To me, living carelessly is taking his Name in vain.

Psalm 8:2 Out of the mouth of babes and sucklings hast thou ordained strength because of thine enemies, that thou mightest still the enemy and the avenger.

One of the great mysteries of faith is that we do not live by our strength but by our weakness. The power of the Almighty shines when we are helpless. Sometimes, when I was younger, I would wake up in the middle of the night feeling paralyzed, I could not move or cry out. I was never sure if I was dreaming or awake, but fear would grip me.  Something I learned was to cry out the name of Jesus. But I could not speak, my mouth and voice seemed paralyzed at those times. Most of the time all I could do was think the Name, again and again until my frozen tongue could move just enough to get a j or s sound out my useless lips. The fear would melt and soon I would be free of that frightening grip. I do not know why that would happen to me, but I do know how I would be free of it. There is power in the Name of the Almighty!

2 Corinthians 12:9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

Majestic, excellent. If just his Name is powerful and can overcome night terror, just think what fellowship with him can do.
Mrs. Hagerty, October 27, 2015

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study

Leave a Reply

