Morning Devotions: Psalm 5

Surprise! I am so unsuccessful at growing cauliflower, but I keep trying. Found one today! It is small, but this small cauliflower is the biggest cali I've ever grown. Gonna do something with it tomorrow!

Surprise! I am so unsuccessful at growing cauliflower, but I keep trying. Found one today! It is small, but this small cauliflower is the biggest cali I’ve ever grown. Gonna do something with it tomorrow!

Take time to pray.
Direct your eyes
Make God your Refuge

Yesterday, in Junior High Ladies Devotions, we saw Rahab make an amazing confession of faith.

… for the LORD your God, He is God in heaven above and on earth beneath. Joshua 2:11b nasu

Rahab was raised in a pagan culture. She only knew the false gods of Jericho, but when the Almighty parted the Red Sea to allow Israel to cross from Egypt to The Land that He promised to them, and when the giants Sihon and Og were defeated, whose armies were probably why Jericho had such an impressive wall, she knew that the God of Israel was the king of kings, and Lord of lords. The God in heaven above and on earth beneath. We finished our lesson with Rahab living in an apartment in the wall of Jericho. We know that wall is about to come crashing down, yet Rahab and her family will be safe there. How can that be?

October 18th and we are still picking red, vine-ripe tomatoes. They are from our unheated green house, but still, VINE RIPE TOMATOES! I also  picked basil, spinach, parsley and french parsley for sandwiches I made for Sunday afternoon lunch. Sometimes I actually eat something that isn't from a bento box.

October 18th and we are still picking red, vine-ripe tomatoes. They are from our unheated green house, but still, VINE RIPE TOMATOES! I also picked basil, spinach, parsley and french parsley for sandwiches I made for Sunday afternoon lunch. Sometimes I actually eat something that isn’t from a bento box.

Nearly a thousand years later, King David, ruling the land of promise, still acknowledges that the Almighty is LORD of both heaven and earth in Psalm 5. David writes about God who hears our prayer and takes action. God expects us to be different then the world around us. In fact He expects us to live lives that are radically different then those around us. But he is not tyrant, He is the God of lovingkindness. The Hebrew word for lovingkindness is the same as our word for grace. God asks us to live by grace. He asks us to live a righteous life by grace. His lovingkindness makes The Way of grace clear to us. In return, He is our refuge, our hiding place in troubling times. He is our shelter, our shield.

I'm growing these dwarf peas for their greens, but I might just get peas! Peas or not, they are delicious and pretty..... and they do not taste like so many of the cole crops we grow for winter food, another plus!

I’m growing these dwarf peas for their greens, but I might just get peas! Peas or not, they are delicious and pretty….. and they do not taste like so many of the cole crops we grow for winter food, another plus!

You may ask, is an invisible God strong enough here on earth, to protect me from harm? Sure he will bring me to heaven someday if I am good enough, but what can he do for me on earth?

Know first of all that it is not your goodness that will get you to heaven, it is the blood of Jesus that will qualify you for heaven. As for how strong God is on earth, Rahab lived in the wall. By faith in the God of heaven, she and her family were safe in that wall. They would not have been safe anywhere else. Common sense would say that the safe place would have been far away from that wall but faith is being obedient to God, putting your trust in his hands. Sometimes it takes courage to trust in the LORD with your whole heart and to not depend on your own understanding (Proverbs 3:5-6) God kept his word to Rahab. He was a refuge, a shelter and a shield to David. What is he to you? What kind of a risk are you willing to take to test Him?

Ps 118:5-9 nasu
5 From my  distress I called upon the LORD;  The LORD answered me and set me in a large place.
6 The LORD is for me; I will not fear;  What can man do to me?
7 The LORD is for me among those who help me; Therefore I will look with satisfaction on those who hate me.
8 It is better to take refuge in the LORD Than to trust in man.
9 It is better to take refuge in the LORD Than to trust in princes.

Mrs. Hagerty, October 6, 2015

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, Fresh from the garden, Urban Farm

Leave a Reply

