Way Points; Exodus 23:20 with John 14:1-7

“Behold, I send an angel before you, to guard you on The Way and to bring you to the place which I have prepared. 

Exodus 23:20  RSV

I sit up and pay attention when I see the word “Behold”. For me it is a flag word, meaning when the Word says “behold” I should pay closer attention. Most of the time Scripture speaks to us on a physical level because we live in a physical world. But when the Almighty starts a sentence with “behold” I think that he is about to open a window into heaven to tell me something I cannot grasp with my physical senses.

Behold, I send an angel before you, to guard you on The Way, and to bring you to the place which I have prepared. The passage continues…

Give heed to him and hearken to his voice, do not rebel against him, for he will not pardon your transgression; for my name is in him.  “But if you hearken attentively to his voice and do all that I say, then I will be an enemy to your enemies and an adversary to your adversaries.  Exodus 23:21-22 RSV

To “heed” is to listen with full intention of obedience (Take a look at Matthew 17: 2-6!). Chapter 23 of Exodus speaks of the Sabbath Day, of the appointments (feasts) that the Almighty has said he wants to meet with us (December 25th and Easter are not one the list of appointments, I’m jus sayen). The Almighty has not demanded that we “know” but that we “heed”. We learn a little at a time. We perfect our skill by practice rather then memorization (though memorization is important!). When you are in The Word, heed it, listen with full intention of obedience.

A quick note on the angel, Y’shua our Salvation, not pardoning our transgressions. He did not pardon, he paid for our transgressions of Torah.

“Let not your hearts be troubled; believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?  And when I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.  And you know The Way where I am going.”  Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going; how can we know The Way?”  Jesus said to him, “I am The Way, and the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father, but by me.  If you had known me, you would have known my Father also; henceforth you know him and have seen him.”    John 14:1-7 RSV

Y’shua is called Jesus in English. I’m not sure why. To believe is what we say in English, it is a long and winding path from English back to Greek, from Hebrew, so I will give you a short-cut. To believe is to “amen” to stand firm on Scripture. We amen-believe that the Almighty is exactly who he says that he is in Scripture. Our relationship to the Almighty is laid out for us in Scripture. We amen-stand firm on who the Almighty says he is in the Word, we do the same with Y’shua.

Olympic National Park in Washington.

Olympic National Park in Washington.

Just as was promised in the Exodus, Y’shua our Salvation promises in the Gospel of John, He goes before us to prepare a place for us. He is The Way to the place, he is The Truth, the Word of God that we live by, he is The Life that we live on The Way. Pay attention today as you walk (HALAK – Hebrew for how we live as we are on The Way because Y’shua is walking with us by the gentle guidance of his Spirit, the breath that makes his Word alive.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible Study, The Way

Leave a Reply

