My country tiss of thee

 

flageagle copy

My country tis of thee

Written by Samuel Francis Smith

Italics are Mine, Ray Hagerty

My country tis of thee,
Sweet land of liberty,
Of thee I sing.

Where have you gone?

Land where my fathers died!
Land of the Pilgrim’s pride!

Have we forgotten what they stood for!

From every mountain side,
Let freedom ring!

Have the hills have fallen silent!

My native country, thee,
Land of the noble free,
Thy name I love.

Where is freedom hiding?

I love thy rocks and rills,
Thy woods and templed hills;

This troubled land of mine I love!

My heart with rapture fills
Like that above.

God have mercy on my land!

Let music swell the breeze,
And ring from all the trees
Sweet freedom’s song.

Let our freedom ring once more!


Let mortal tongues awake;
Let all that breathe partake;

Let our voice of freedom cry out!


Let rocks their silence break,
The sound prolong.

Let freedom ring once more!

Our father’s God to, Thee,
Author of liberty,
To Thee we sing.

Return our freedom song!

Long may our land be bright
With freedom’s holy light;

Let the light of freedom shine!


Protect us by Thy might,
Great God, our King!

Open our eyes and heart,

That we might see our plight

Let freedom ring! Let freedom ring!

Leave a comment

Filed under By Ray

Leave a Reply

