For A Kale Smoothy

A kale smoothy sounded like a nice way to celebrate the last day of the Wolf Moon. It also seemed like a good idea for the first day of 2013 that has 10+ hours of daylight. I knew I had a few large kale plants thriving in the garden. It was only on a whim that I picked up the new basket Chris made.

New toy for the Toy Box

New toy for the Toy Box

How did it get so full? The morning started in silver fog but the sun came out in the afternoon. I have so little time after school and puppy walks. I thought I would just get started on the garden that I plan to plant peas in. I saved the best of the skinny spring leeks and the tiny fingerling carrots hidden under weedy oregano. I love this new basket.

Stella and Bertha finish the job.

Stella and Bertha finish the job.

While I was out, I let my chickens out to graze. They seem to love their job… except for Miss Purdy, over by the fence. She was the first to molt this year and the last to recover BUT I suspect it is more than a tough molt. Her comb and waddle are a sickly orange-yellow instead of bright red like the rest of the girls. She just wants to sit in the sun. Poor thing. Little Bit was in the house laying an egg. I saw her when I cleaned out the old bedding in the easter basket. I cleaned out the run and put down fresh straw.

Kale Smoothie, nice after working in the cold winter sun.

Kale Smoothie, nice after working in the cold winter sun.

I did finally get that smoothy. Sunrise at 7:22 AM. Ten hours and two minutes later it sets at 5:24. That is when we say good-by to the Wolf Moon and Hellow to the Snow Moon (a reminder that it isn’t spring yet.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Chickens, Fresh from the garden, Square Foot Garden, Urban Farm

Leave a Reply

