August 1st, 2012

  • 20 eggs
  • 2 pounds, 1 ounce of fruit (Marion berries, blueberries and apples)
  • 3 pounds, 1.5 ounces of vegetables + 6 carrots, 2 heads of garlic, 8 onions, 1 shallot, and 1 yellow beet.
  • 8 big handfuls of herbs (rosemary, parsley, thyme, lavender, sage, cilantro, basil)

“Violetto” Artichoke from winter-sown seed.

The list is what I harvested from the Tho Box from July 23 to 31st. I was expecting a lot more green beans than the 6 ounces that I picked from two squares. Even though there was not much rain during that week there was plenty of cold wet weather. Low pressure over land and high pressure on the Pacific gave us some of the gloomy weather the Pacific Northwet is famous for. I do not think I am exaggerating when I tell you that our average hight temperature for the week was about 67 degrees. We may have had just a few hours that went above 70 late in the evenings.

F1 Ranger (plum)

I’ve said it before, I am saying it again….. The PNW is not a good place to live if you LOVE home-grown tomatoes. This little plum tomato was one of the first fruits in the tomato garden. It has taken about 3 or more weeks to get to this almost ready state. We have a beautiful artichoke (see above) that we can eat to celebrate the first of August, but not much in the way of tomatoes. I did harvest 6 ounces of yellow cherry tomatoes (besides those that I just popped into my mouth while out in the garden). That is good… toy tomatoes from the Toy Box.

Siltz (d)

This Siltz is a better representative of the majority of the tomatoes in the Toy Box. Sadly the SFG tomatoes are not doing much at all.

French/Filet, “Fortex”

I HOPE to soon have an abundance of green beans. In the SFG there are many kinds of bush beans including “Soleil” a yellow French/filet, Dragon’s Tongue (buffed green-yellow horticultural type= can be eaten as a pod or soup bean), Royal Burgundy (a purple pod bean) and a couple kinds of green beans. On the bean tower is “Fortex”.

Blacktail Mountain Watermelon

Do you think I have a chance in frozen over _ _ _ _ to get Watermelon in the Toy Box? The seed is from a company in Bellingham who claim to have harvested nice watermelon even in cold, rainy PNW gardens. I am thinking, “Not so much” but have not given up hope yet.

Chris has a birthday tomorrow. I hope it is nice enough to fire up the BBQ.

Apples looking like ornaments

Blue sky! How nice. Maybe I will get the lawn mown (it grows well in the gloom) 66/57, partly cloudy. The Thunder Moon is full. Sunrise at 5:46; fourteen hours and 57 minutes later it sets at 8:43. C’mon summer, we are running out of time.

1 Comment

Filed under Fresh from the garden, Urban Farm

One response to “August 1st, 2012

  1. So envious of your apples. We have planted a few varieties that will supposable bear here in Florida. In the meantime I have to do what I can with my abundance of sand pears. Made my first pear cider this week, does not come close to apple cider but , its mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

