July is for herbal flowers

Hidcote Lavender from the Toy Box herb garden

I went out this morning to harvest one of my lavenders. Yesterday I harvested the buds of an unnamed pink lavender. The pink has a floral scent but the hidcote lavender has the classic lavender scent that I love as a cooking herb and in sweets. While I was out, I harvested about half of my white lavender too.

Comfrey

The comfrey was lush and lovely through June. The graceful sprays of deep blue blossoms were attractive to bees and humming birds. I harvested some of the leaves to make a hot process oil that is awesome for relieving pain in my arthritic shoulders and sternum. I also make a tea of fresh comfrey leaves with lemon balm and mint (the last two are mostly for flavor) and it instantly relieves pain from my acid reflux. I’ve never tried to dry comfrey before. I have so much of it that I have togive it a try. My Jason used to make a poultice of the fresh leaves when he was boxing. I’m not sure if he ever broke a rib or just bruised them but he knows why comfrey has the nickname bone-knit. The pain relief is amazing. I still have quit a stand of comfrey to take care of. I could use more comfrey oil to mix with the St Johns oil that is cold processing on my shelf. I am told that combination is the best way to relieve joint pain.

One of two small stands of Chamomile growing at the Toy Box

Using my fingers as a rake I was quickly able to gather a pint of chamomile blossoms for tea. I’ve also been taking the blossoms of calendula (Pot Marigold) and will make a cream or ointment from those petals.

Need oregano?

This powerhouse plant is taking over. I hacked and pulled until there was a large scented heap of oregano in the pathway. I ended up stuffing it into the potato tower (where the indeterminate potatoes “Burbank Russets” grow. Usually I put straw or grass clippings into the tower to grow potatoes in layers but I had to do something with all that oregano. Chris thought I should feed it to the chickens for preseasoned eggs. Hummm.

After attacking the herb garden.

Really, I only went out to harvest the lavender. I do not know what got into me.

Oh yum, Marion berries are coming

Warm and humid. It runs me down.  70/57 with a heavy cloud cover. If you could see it you would know that the strawberry moon is waning. Sunrise at 5:29, Setting at 9:00 (15 hours and 31 minutes of gloomy daylight.)

4 Comments

Filed under Fresh from the garden, Urban Farm

4 responses to “July is for herbal flowers

  1. Max

    My chickens love Comfrey and it is a very good source of protein for them.

    • Thanks for saying so Max. I just got back from a look-see at your blog, I’m liking the way you spin a yarn. My girls (the nuggets) like comfrey, I give it to them often but not daily. The prefer kale and (when they can get out to graze) clover. Love is too strong of an idea for how they rate comfrey. Like works.

      • Max

        I had read that Comfrey usually has to be wilted before chickens will eat it but that hasn’t been the case with my girls. I can throw a mixed bucket of chard, squash leaves, broken up summer squash, comfrey, and even a hornworm or two and the girls go straight to the comfrey every time.

      • I like the salad bar your girls get! Lucky Ladies

Leave a Reply

