Pruning my fruit trees

Ray bravely takes a snip of an Orcas pear tree on a rare sunny February day in Everett.

Clippers do not frighten me. I am not afraid to snip back berries, even the apparently scary blue berries. Roses and lilacs…. cut, cut, cut. Knowing where to snip rhododendrons and still get bloom next season, no problem. But how to trim a pear tree and have fruit in fall? I have no idea.  My trees are young, but how many years can I use that excuse? But, at the right time, Sunnyside Nursery in Marysville, Washington, had a fruit tree pruning class. The teacher was good. I am pretty sure that I still do not know what I am doing. As I watched the video, I realized that Ray and I have opposite ideas of what a tree should do after it is pruned. Ray is the tree guy so I happily bow to him.

It is probably too late now, but have you got any helpful tips for me?

The berry class mentioned at the end of the video, Bountiful Berries, will be at Sunnyside Nursery in Marysville, Washington. It is a free class but you need to register. Ten in the morning at the nursery on Saturday, February 11, 2012.

Deception Pass, February 2005

After a solid week of blue sky and banana belt temperatures the rain has returned to Everett. Weather Underground has an optimistic “mostly” cloudy and makes the rain a toss-up at 50%. The cloud cover will keep it fairly warm tonight, 42 degrees F. Hey! We are almost up to the magic 10 hours of daylight, 9 hours and 52 minutes from sunrise at 7:27 AM to sunset at 5:19 PM (we should be at ten hours on Friday!!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Everyday Adventure, Urban Farm, Video

Leave a Reply

